ISU MSS 2024

UNOOSA and MBRSC announce new Space for All opportunity

PHI-1 image, the previous mission to PHI-2. Credit Mohammed Bin Rashid Space Centre
PHI-1 image, the previous mission to PHI-2. Credit Mohammed Bin Rashid Space Centre

London, 5 October 2023 – The United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA) and the Mohammed Bin Rashid Space Centre (MBRSC) of the United Arab Emirates are opening a new round of their joint Payload Hosting Initiative (PHI) programme. Through PHI, each team can submit a proposal of a maximum Three Units (3U) in size. The maximum space for the combined awardees will be Five Units (5U) in a Twelve Unit (12U) satellite platform provided by MBRSC. 

The joint capacity-building effort aims to promote space science and technology in developing nations and economies in transition. It intends to foster innovations that can help scale up activities in emerging space nations. PHI is part of the Satellite Development Track of the United Nations Access to Space for All initiative which launched in 2021. 

The awardees of the second round will be able to fly their payloads on the PHI-2 mission, expected to launch in 2026. 

“The kick-off of the PHI-2 mission marks another milestone in our ongoing collaboration with UNOOSA to foster advancements in space science and technology. The Payload Hosting Initiative is pivotal in providing nations with unparalleled opportunities to explore and leverage space technologies,” said Salem Humaid AlMarri, Director General of MBRSC. “We are enthusiastic about the innovative projects and diverse payloads this round will bring forth, further strengthening international cooperation and contributing to the realisation of the immense potential and benefits that space exploration holds for us all.”

The deadline to submit applications is the 31st of March 2024.

Check Also


HEO and Sidus Space Partner for NEI Payload and Data Services

HEO has finalized a deal with Sidus Space, which will see Sidus Space host HEO’s NEI imager, HOLMES-006, onboard LizzieSat-3 as part of the Bandwagon-2 launch, along with a monthly data services contract. This consequently marks the second agreement between HEO and Sidus Space, as Sidus Space’s LizzieSat-2 will be hosting HEO’s HOLMES-004 on the same launch.