ISS MSS - banner 2

Vice President Harris announces members of the National Space Council’s UAG

White House logo. Credit: OSTP

Edinburgh, 19 December 2022. – Vice President Kamala Harris, Chair of the National Space Council, announced the names of the selected individuals to serve on the Council’s Users Advisory Group (UAG) to help maintain a robust and responsible U.S. space enterprise and preserve space for current and future generations, The White House stated. The members are currently awaiting their official appointment by the NASA Administrator Bill Nelson.

The selected people represent companies and organizations supporting the United States’ space workforce. These comprise space services users such as climate scientists, individuals focusing on the next generation of space professionals, and leading space experts.

The UAG’s role will be to advise the National Space Council and give recommendations on space policy and space strategy.

The selected members of the National Space Council’s UAG are:

  • General (USAF, Ret) Lester Lyles, UAG Chair
  • Mr. Rajeev Badyal, VP of Technology, Amazon Project Kuiper
  • Mr. Charles Bolden, Former NASA Administrator and Former Astronaut
  • Mr. Salvatore T. Bruno, CEO, United Launch Alliance
  • Dr. Lance Bush, President & CEO, Challenger Center
  • Ms. Bridget Chatman, Chairwoman, Women in Aerospace
  • Mr. Theodore “Ted” Colbert, CEO, Boeing Defense, Space & Security
  • Ms. Nancy Colleton, President, Institute for Global Environmental Strategies
  • Ms. Karina Drees, President, Commercial Spaceflight Federation
  • Mr. Eric Fanning, President and CEO, Aerospace Industries Association
  • Dr. Daniel Hastings, Head, Department of Aeronautics & Astronautics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Ms. Dawne Hickton, Subject Matter Expert
  • Mr. Daniel Jablonsky, President & CEO, Maxar Technologies
  • Dr. Dave Kaufman, President, Ball Aerospace
  • Mr. Patrick Lin, Director of the Ethics & Emerging Sciences Program, California Polytechnic State University
  • Mr. Ron Lopez, President & Managing Director, Astroscale US
  • Dr. Harold Lee Martin, Chancellor of North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University
  • Dr. Kate Marvel, Climate Scientist at Project Drawdown
  • Maj Gen (Ret) Roosevelt “Ted” Mercer, CEO & Director, Virginia Space
  • Dr. Marla Perez-Davis, Former Director, NASA Glenn Research Center
  • Dr. Sian Proctor, Geoscience Professor, South Mountain Community College
  • Ms. Gwynne Shotwell, President & COO, SpaceX
  • Dr. Robert Smith, CEO, Blue Origin
  • Mr. James Taiclet, President & CEO, Lockheed Martin
  • Dr. Mandy Vaughn, Subject Matter Expert
  • Ms. Kathy Warden, Chairwoman & CEO, Northrop Grumman Corp
  • Mr. Robbie Schingler, Jr., Co-Founder & Chief Strategy Officer, Planet Labs 
  • Ms. Melanie Stricklan, Co-Founder & CEO, Slingshot Aerospace
  • Dr. Jeremy Williams, Head, Climate Corporation & Digital Farming, Bayer Crop Science, and
  • Ms. Katrina Harden Williams, Middle School Teacher, Ames Middle School, Iowa.

Check Also


Ariane 6 Upper Part Moves to Launch Pad for First Flight

The European Space Agency (ESA) has transferred Ariane 6's upper composite with the payloads that it will launch to Europe’s Spaceport in French Guiana. The upper part of the rocket was moved from the encapsulation hall in Europe's Spaceport to the launch pad in the morning, and placed on top of the rocket. The rocket's fairing includes hardware from experiments, deployers, satellites and reentry capsules.