Glex Summit 2024 - Banner

Live coverage of the HAKUTO-R Mission 1 launch started

HAKUTO Mission on SpaceX Falcon9; Credits:SpaceX

SpaceX is targeting Sunday, December 11 for a Falcon 9 launch of ispace’s HAKUTO-R Mission 1 – the first privately-led Japanese mission to land on the lunar surface – from Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Space Force Station in Florida. Also onboard this mission is NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory’s Lunar Flashlight. The instantaneous launch window is at 2:38 a.m. ET (07:38 UTC), and a backup opportunity is available on Monday, December 12 at 2:31 a.m. ET (07:31 UTC).

The first stage booster supporting this mission previously launched SES-22 and three Starlink missions. Following stage separation, the first stage will land on Landing Zone 2 (LZ-2) at Cape Canaveral Space Force Station.

Check Also

#SpaceWatchGL Venture Space – May 2024

Five years ago, a pace of $270m per month in venture investment in the space industry would have been ground-breaking. In 2024, it’s a down month: the second lowest month of the year in terms of venture investment. Still, if the current flow of venture capital into the space industry continues at the rate of the first five months of the year, $7.6b of venture capital will have flowed into space-tech startups by the end of 2024.