SpaceTech 2023 - Banner

The ECSL Young Lawyers’ Symposium (YLS)

The European Centre for Space Law (ECSL) is inviting young scholars and professionals to take part in the fifth edition of the Young Lawyers’ Symposium (YLS), which will be organised as a full day event on the 24 April 2020 at ESA ESOC in Darmstadt, Germany.

The YLS 2020 will centre around three themed panels, which will consider legal aspect relating to:

  1. The legality of the use of force in outer space
  2. Legal tools to guarantee space safety
  3. Use of outer space against climate change and environmental crises

The call for abstracts is open until the 5th of March 2020. More information on the event and registration here:


The European Centre for Space Law (ESCL) was established in 1989 under the auspices of the European Space Agency (ESA) and with the support of a number of pioneers in this field.

Current members of the ECSL include professionals working in a wide range of areas within the space sector, lawyers, university professors and students.

Among other things, one of the main objectives of the Centre is to provide a forum for all those wishing to participate in constructive dialogue related to space law and space policy, and to encourage interdisciplinary exchange among members.

ESCL members include professionals working in different areas within the space sector. Citizens of ESA Member States or countries with cooperative agreements with ESA can become members of ECSL upon payment of a small annual fee.

Membership gives the right to participate in ECSL activities, to vote at the General Meeting of Members and to receive certain ECSL publications.

Check Also


EU SST Wins T.S. Kelso Award for Flight Safety Contributions

Space Data Association has announced The European Union Space Surveillance and Tracking Partnership (EU SST) as the recipient of the T.S. Kelso Award in recognition of outstanding contributions to space flight safety. The EU SST Partnership relies on the SSA capabilities of 15 Member states of the European Union to provide space safety services, with the EU Agency for the Space Programme (EUSPA) acting as the Front Desk.